E-Lit Example

I think my body: a WunderKammer by Shelley Jackson captures Calvino’s visibility. Jackson uses a chalk drawing of her body to tell the story of her life. She uses each body part as a springboard to tell stories about her adolescence, her sexual awakening, and her ultimate acceptance and celebration of her own body. Her body is at once a map, a timeline, and a living museum, and it all begins with the image.

whole_body

I chose my body as my example of visibility because in this work, as in the comics Calvino read as a child, the story really begins with the visual image. The image also provides us with the opportunity to create our own stories by drawing on our own experiences and imagining a multitude of alternate narratives.

Leave a comment

Filed under Visibility

Leave a comment